Civic Music Announces New Board Member

DES MOINES – The Civic Music Association is pleased to announce the appointment of a new member to its Board of Directors for its 2017/2018 season.
Joining the board this year is Joanne Tubbs. Tubbs began her term June 29, 2017, at the Civic Music Association Annual Board Meeting. Tubbs’ term will run through 2020.
Joanne Tubbs is the Lead Administrative Consultant at Iowa Board of Educational Examiners, where she works on teacher preparation programs and teacher licensure in the state of Iowa. Prior to her work for the IBEE, Tubbs’ served for six years as the Performing Arts Coordinator for the Des Moines Public Schools.
“I think Joanne Tubbs is an excellent addition to our Board of Directors,” reflected CMA Executive Director, Peter Stevenson. “CMA has a long-standing tradition of bringing music education to schools around Des Moines and with Joanne’s background I believe we will be able to improve our program.”
In addition to appointing Joanne Tubbs, CMA Board of Directors also voted for new officers to lead the board. Jeff Kane was voted to keep his position as President of the Board for a second term.
Stephen Sanda, after his first year on the Board of Directors and Chair of the Marketing Committee, was sworn in as the new 1st Vice President.
Neil Salowitz, also completing his first year on the Board, was voted to hold the position of 2nd Vice President.
Chairman of the Development Committee, Lincoln Dix was voted to take over the role of Secretary.
Karen Jackson will continue to serve as Treasurer of the Board.
The Civic Music Association kicks off their 93rd season on October 6th with a world-renowned ensemble, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields Chamber Ensemble. This season also features artists such as David Sanborn, Delfeayo Marsalis, Eighth Blackbird and more! Single tickets go on sale July 14.

Leave a Reply