Jazz 100: The Music of Dizzy, Ella, Mongo and Monk

Saturday, March 18, 2017, 7:30 PM, Hoyt Sherman Place

In early 1917, The Original Dixieland Jass Band was in New York, having traveled from New Orleans via Chicago for an engagement at Reisenweber’s Cafe in Manhattan. They attracted an enthusiastic following and were soon booked into the recording studio at the Victor Talking Machine Company. On February 26, 1917, the band recorded “Livery Stable Blues” and “Dixie Jass Band One Step.” These titles, released on March 7, 1917 are recognized as the first jazz recordings. First marketed simply as a novelty, they were a surprise hit, giving many Americans their first taste of jazz.

In celebration of the centennial of this important milestone in the history of jazz, and the 100th birthdays of Ella Fitzgerald, Dizzy Gillespie, Mongo Santamaria and Thelonious Monk, Civic Music Association is proud to present Jazz 100. Featuring an all-star lineup of musicians, including Danilo Pérez (piano), Chris Potter (tenor sax), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Wycliffe Gordon (trombone), and vocalist Lizz Wright, this special performance is under the musical direction of Danilo Perez, former pianist for Dizzy Gillespie. An A-list rhythm section including Ben Street (bass), Adam Cruz (drums) and Roman Diaz (percussion) round out the lineup.

Together the musicians of Jazz 100 will perform essential examples of the groundbreaking music that emerged following those pivotal 1917 recordings in New York, with special focus on the music of Ella, Dizzy, Monk and Mongo.

Ticket Info

Season passes are available for this performance.

Get Details

Tickets for Jazz 100: The Music of Dizzy, Ella, Mongo and Monk go on sale July 15 for the following prices:

  • Main Floor Center: $59
  • Main Floor East & West: $49
  • Balcony Center: $59
  • Balcony SE & SW: $39
  • Balcony East & West: $29
  • Student Rush: $10

Buy Concert Tickets